quino-al-137872-unsplash (1).jpg

Hi.

Welcome to my blog. I write about books, food, wine and travel. 

Come hang out with me.

A Woman Is No Man by Etaf Rum

A Woman Is No Man by Etaf Rum

Let’s round out the week by catching up on more reviews shall we? πŸ’™πŸ“š

A Woman Is No Man - I mean. I devoured this in a day a few weeks ago, and I’ve been sitting with it since trying to figure out how to put together a review that does it justice, because this is simply one of the most remarkable, powerful, brave, brilliant, heart wrenching, stunning books that I have EVER read in this lifetime. And possibly that I ever will read. @etafrum should be celebrated, revered and applauded for her courage in bringing this story forward, and shining light into the darkest of places. Truly - this is a work that impacts the world in the most meaningful of ways. The bravery and courage that Etaf has in bringing this particular story of Palestinian women living in very traditional cultural roles in their families (in America no less) is stunning. πŸ’™πŸ“š

In all of my sitting with how this book completely blew my heart apart, I realized that the truth is, there is just no way for me to write what this book deserves in a short blurb. I can’t delve into the power of this book in a few sentences. I cannot sum it up in a catchy paragraph. It cannot be done. It would be like trying to capture sunshine in a jar. Impossible. πŸ’™πŸ“š

And that right there is the best review I COULD do - this book is so magnificent, so meaningful, and so tenacious that if speaks for itself - the only thing you need to know is that you should be, MUST BE, reading this book. This is the kind of book that demonstrates exactly why we need books and stories written by women in this world. This is moxie personified. πŸ’™πŸ“š

I implore you to read this book. Buy it, borrow it, listen to it - just get a copy of this book and digest it. It is a book we should all be reading, because there is a dialogue here that needs to happen in our world. πŸ’™πŸ“š

10 out of 5 stars good. Do not pass this one by. πŸ’™πŸ“š

I’m so excited to chat about this one with @saltwaterreads / @litonhst / @words.between.worlds this month. Truly, a brilliant choice. πŸ’™πŸ“š


QOTD: What is the last book that completely shifted you as a person? I want to hear about the power of stories. πŸ’™

Happy Friday! πŸ’™

Book Synopsis:

Introducing a brave, new Arab-American voice, an unflinching debut novel that takes us inside a world where few of us have been before: the lives of conservative Arab women living in America.

In Brooklyn, eighteen-year-old Deya is starting to meet with suitors. Though she doesn’t want to get married, her grandparents give her no choice. History is repeating itself: Deya’s mother, Isra, also had no choice when she left Palestine as a teenager to marry Adam. Though Deya was raised to believe her parents died in a car accident, a secret note from a mysterious, yet familiar-looking woman makes Deya question everything she was told about her past. As the narrative alternates between the lives of Deya and Isra, she begins to understand the dark, complex secrets behind her fragile community.

Set in an America that may feel removed yet is all too close at hand, A Woman Is No Man is both a gripping page-turner and an intimate family portrait. Fans of The Kite Runner and Everything I Never Told You will be drawn to this powerful novel.

Relax Mode

Relax Mode

Throwback Thursday - Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Throwback Thursday - Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid