quino-al-137872-unsplash (1).jpg

Hi.

Welcome to my blog. I write about books, food, wine and travel. 

Come hang out with me.

Perfect Liars by Rebecca Reid

Perfect Liars by Rebecca Reid

Today was a busy day! Work, errands and taking my nephew to soccer (I’m a contender for World’s Best Aunt - especially if you’ve not recently been acquainted with the smell of teenage boy athletic gear in your vehicle 😂) and now I’m going to take the rest of the night to unwind with my co-pilot here, who is not very interested in the book, but is interested in chewing on the side of my Diet Coke. 😂

I completely love a book that will sneak up out of nowhere and then knock your socks off, which is exactly what Perfect Liars did. I flew through this book in one delicious sitting - its one of those stories that you dive into and realize halfway through you aren't going to be able to set back down until the mystery is unravelled.

Moving between a present day dinner party and sixteen years prior, when three friends did something unspeakable, the tension is ratcheted to ten from the very start. Georgia has beckoned Nancy to come back to the UK from her new home in the US, as Lila has become unhinged and is dangerously close to letting the secret out that could destroy them all. Georgia desperately needs Nancy to help her contain Lila before it's too late.

I love that the present day story stayed confined to the events of a one-night dinner party with the friends and their spouses - as the night unfolds Rebecca Reid did amazing work letting the layers of drama reveal themselves bit by bit, until you were only sure that the night would end badly. Every single conversation, every trip a character took out of the main room - I was biting my nails wondering if that was going to be it, and it was all going to come out to the open (what coming out, I still didn't know, but there was no way it was going to be good!)

I also love that the flashbacks to the girls at boarding school did the exact same thing - release little breadcrumbs of information until you are SURE something bad is going to happen, but you aren't QUITE sure what. As the twists starting revealing themselves, it only made things MORE tense - while Rebecca keeps the story on the go until literally the very last pages.

I loved this book - it was EXCELLENT in the way that a good mystery drama needs to be. If you are looking for an easy to read, highly suspenseful mystery, then THIS is the book for you this spring!

Synopsis:

They have it all. And they’ll do anything to keep it that way.

For fans of The Girlfriend and Liane Moriarty as well as TV hits Doctor Foster and The Replacement.

Sixteen years ago, best friends Nancy, Georgia and Lila did something unspeakable. Their crime forged an unbreakable bond between them, a bond of silence. But now, one of them wants to talk.

One wrong word and everything could be ruined, their lives, their careers, their relationships. It's up to Georgia to call a crisis dinner. But things do not go as planned.

Three women walk in to the dinner, but only two will leave.

Murder isn't so difficult the second time around...

Gripping and unputdownable, Perfect Liars tells the story of a group of friends bound by their dark pasts and their desperate need to keep their secrets hidden from the world around them. How far would you go to protect the life you’ve built?

Learning to See by Elise Hooper

Learning to See by Elise Hooper

The Suspect by Fiona Barton

The Suspect by Fiona Barton