quino-al-137872-unsplash (1).jpg

Hi.

Welcome to my blog. I write about books, food, wine and travel. 

Come hang out with me.

Just When You Think Summer Is Over

Just When You Think Summer Is Over

As you might have noticed, we have been on a weather teeter totter over here. It jumps back and forth between end of summer warm days, and a snow blizzards. It has been deeply amusing to wake up and have no idea if today will be a summer dress or sweater and jeans kind of day until I look outside.

I have been taking FULL advantage of the snowy days to stay in, slow down, recharge and read. It has been LOVELY. But, I am also making good use of these last beautiful summery days we are getting, which means if the sun is out and its a bit warmer, I am outside reading on my patio and soaking it all in. I know that real winter is on its way and will likely be here sooner than I am ready for.

So today, I am taking full advantage of the sun and jumping into my latest SaltWater Reads book club pick, Fruit of the Drunken Tree, which I am very excited for. Check out the full synopsis below, but needless to say, as someone who is fascinated by Pablo Escobar, and his reign over Columbia, this was not a hard sell to get me on board with.

I love books that tie into events or real life people - it makes them feel all the more real and tangible. As a reader, that has always allowed me to get more fully immersed in a story, and whether its fiction or not, I love that feeling and that experience. It isn’t always easy to find, but when you do, its worth the wait!

So let’s not delay getting that experience for another minute. If you need me I will be over here with my wine, deep in the recent history of Columbia.

Stay tuned for the full review!

Happy Wednesday!

Synopsis:

In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990's Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them both.

The Santiago family lives in a gated community in Bogotá, safe from the political upheaval terrorizing the country. Seven-year-old Chula and her older sister Cassandra enjoy carefree lives thanks to this protective bubble, but the threat of kidnappings, car bombs, and assassinations hover just outside the neighborhood walls, where the godlike drug lord Pablo Escobar continues to elude authorities and capture the attention of the nation.

When their mother hires Petrona, a live-in-maid from the city's guerrilla-occupied slum, Chula makes it her mission to understand Petrona's mysterious ways. But Petrona's unusual behavior belies more than shyness. She is a young woman crumbling under the burden of providing for her family as the rip tide of first love pulls her in the opposite direction. As both girls' families scramble to maintain stability amidst the rapidly escalating conflict, Petrona and Chula find themselves entangled in a web of secrecy that will force them both to choose between sacrifice and betrayal.

Inspired by the author's own life, and told through the alternating perspectives of the willful Chula and the achingly hopeful Petrona, Fruit of the Drunken Tree contrasts two very different, but inextricable coming-of-age stories. In lush prose, Rojas Contreras sheds light on the impossible choices women are often forced to make in the face of violence and the unexpected connections that can blossom out of desperation.

Highly Anticipated Reads

Highly Anticipated Reads

#FashionVictim by Amina Akhtar

#FashionVictim by Amina Akhtar